Da Vinci Sketch

The methodical practice of the Thirty-two Parts of the Body Meditation can help one penetrate and understand the true nature of the body.  It can help one to see impermanence and comprehend that the body is made of four primary elements:

  1. earth (solidity)
  2. air (motion)
  3. fire (temperature)
  4. water (liquidity)

Practicing the Thirty-two Parts of the Body Meditation, can help one build immense levels of concentration, increase the potential for self-healing, and allow one to experience the taste of deep freedom and peace.

This meditation was introduced to the west by the late Taungpulu Kaba-Aye Sayadaw of Burma who said:  “This meditation is one of the most eminent among all Satipatthanas.  The meditation on the Body is unlike any other kind of meditation.  It is brought to light and taught only in the times when the Buddhas arise.” 

You can learn more about each of the 32 parts by clicking on the links along the left and right sides of this page.

These are the thirty-two parts of the body (with Pali translations *):

* Pali is the original language spoken by the Buddha